Private Lunch Event at the Mews of Mayfair, London

A couple of weeks ago I was lucky enough to be invited to a private event with work at the Mews of Mayfair in London. We were whisked up to the private “Dining Room” on the top floor where we were the first to arrive. 

I was excited to say the least when we walked into this beautifully decorated room, with antique maps across all four walls, all of the beams still visible and a great big chandelier. Upon arrival there was a waitress on hand who asked us whether we wanted still or sparkling water and we started chatting to the hosts of the event before everyone else arrived.

mews-of-mayfair-private-dining-room

Once most people had arrived we sat down and began talking about the topic of the moment, whilst they came round and filled out glasses with wine, I chose a red which was actually quite nice. Just had to make sure I didn’t drink too much at a lunchtime! The wine glasses were also nice and bowl-like, which is exactly the kind of wine glass I like!

wine-glasses-mews-of-mayfair

They started to come round with bread soon after and I had to resist from eating it all before the starters came out. Starters soon started to follow which was a butternut squash, goat’s cheese and hazelnut ravioli. The ravioli was just warm and was actually really nice. Nothing spectacular but a really interesting and different ravioli to what I’ve had before. The bread was absolutely amazing though, still warm from being freshly baked, perhaps I’m just a sucker for good carbs!

We then had a Cornish lamb rump for mains which came with braised shoulder of the lamb, celeriac and mustard on the side. The lamb was absolutely beautiful and sliced like butter! The mustard that they had put on the side of the plate was lovely and had clearly been homemade, or at least mixed with other ingredients to make it their own, as I don’t usually like a mustard!

Finally when I thought I couldn’t eat anymore the desserts came out. I didn’t think I would be able to eat the dessert as I’m not usually a dessert eater, but quite frankly it looked amazing on the plate and it just would’ve been rude to leave it! We had a dark chocolate parfait with honeycomb and salted caramel, and although very rich the parfait was absolutely beautiful. I couldn’t quite finish it but the presentation of the dessert on the dish was impressive.

dark-chocolate-parfait-mews-of-mayfair

Somewhere I would highly recommend if anyone is looking to host an event where you want to impress the people you are taking along or trying to cinch a new deal.

Please share any other good event spaces you have been too before!

 

Thanks for reading

The Bean in the Travelling Pants x

Leave a comment