Hungry People Eating Dinner at That Hungry Chef, Holloway London

Last week I was fortunate enough to be taken to That Hungry Chef in Holloway, London, as a thank you meal for a project I worked on.

When the organiser told me we would be eating at That Hungry Chef’s house, and that was the idea of the experience, I was intrigued to try something new to say the very least.

I was on my way to Holloway and was concerned about turning up at someone’s house, just turning up at their door, what if they weren’t in? Thankfully as I got near to the door that I suspected was theirs, there was a sign to show me that this is where I was meant to be.

That Hungry Chef is a private dining experience (they also do catering) providing luxury gastronomic fine food in their very own. They provide you with your drinks and cook everything from their very own kitchen.

Upon arrival we were given an aperitif, spiced gin with a spiced cloudy lemonade and flowers. They had used Ophir Gin and the spiced cloudy lemonade provided a really nice combination, I love gin and tonic so I was easily pleased here.

Once everyone arrived, we were seated at the table in their dining room, the house is a beautiful Victorian house with high ceilings and a very good size, and they even had a garden in London! Our first course was a small ‘shot’ size of gazpacho with bread and what quite frankly looked like bran flakes. The small bran flake like addition and the gazpacho really packed a punch for such small portions of food.

Next were starters, which was a ravioli parcel of sorts, this was ok nothing exciting so much so that I can’t really remember much about it a week on, which just says how much it stood out to me. For mains we have lamb with dauphinoise potatoes and aubergine wrap in a curry sauce. The lamb, potatoes and aubergine were absolutely lovely and it was nice to have a sauce, but the sauce overpowered the dish a bit too much, it was a bit too heavy for the dish.

lamb-that-hungry-chef

Finally we ended with a treacle pudding that had been laced with ginger and a homemade ice cream, I’m not a big sweet eater, but this was beautiful. It had the perfect balance of ginger so that it wasn’t too overpowering, but still had enough to make it slightly different. Finally it ended with some soft white chocolates as almost a finishing note. These were interesting and were laced with an herb that was similar to lavender. They had a really interesting texture as they were soft to the touch whilst remaining sealed not melting all over your hands.

That Hungry Chef was a really great and unique experience, I love going to fine dining restaurants, but to have a private fine dining experience was really something different. The food was good, but I have eaten much better food in my past also, so although a unique experience with some really great mixes of herbs from Pratap’s past, it’s not the best food I’ve ever had. However on that note I would definitely recommend the experience, Pratap’s unique mix of herbs and the personal service.

 

Has anyone been to That Hungry Chef or tried a similar private dining experience they want to share?

Thanks for reading.

The Bean in the Travelling Pants x

 

Leave a comment